Facebook reduces “Alienation”

1. Summary

Does Facebook really make you less lonely and more connected? There was a study done that uses 100 students at the University of Arizona for a week. They put them in two groups, one was controlled and only posted normally and another group was told to post more frequently then they would normally do. The students that posted more didn’t have a change in their mood but they did feel less lonely during the week and felt that they were more important. They felt more connect to their peers of other people even though they was at a distance. The controlled group did not feel the same. The study shows that frequent Facebook posts reduces students “alienation” and replaces real social interaction.

2. Response Featured image

With me just moving to Columbus, GA I use Facebook and other social networks to stay connected with my family since I don’t have any family here. I do get lonely at times but when I see a post from one on my families I can say i get “less lonely” and fell more connected even though we are far apart. Instead of calling to see how they are doing I just log on to the site. It has helped me with my move knowing that I can still feel some kind of connection. I think it really does replace the real social interaction because I’m not eager to see them as often because I know how they are doing online. Even when I post I feel a lot better because they know how I’m doing.

6 thoughts on “Facebook reduces “Alienation”

  1. You made an interesting point about social media sites, especially Facebook, reducing alienation. It is true that many people use these sites, as you do, to stay connected with distant family and friends. I believe having various social media sites can make one feel “less lonely”. However, one can also face harsh criticism and cyberbullying which can cause a countereffect. Great post!

    Like

  2. Kim, I can relate to your experience with staying connected with family members by online medias. I agree that Facebook can create a since of unity with people you are no longer physically near. I too, logon to Facebook or Instagram to be updated on their everyday activities, as though we never parted.

    Like

Leave a comment